Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Side Library: History Databases

For additional 12th grade history resources

For additional 12th grade history resources, visit this site:  12th grade History

 

These databases require a New York Public Library Barcode & Pin Number:

“Search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.”

“Coverage of the most-studied U.S. history topics ... through a web-like experience... Noted for access to primary source documents.”

Reference articles and primary sources in American History.  Multiple databases including The African American Experience, the Native American Experience, the Latino American Experience & American Government.

Image result for gale virtual reference library

“An online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.”

  

The New York Times full-text archive from ProQuest, covering 1851-2017

A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. 

 

“A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. “

“Offers material to support differing views...on thousands of current social topics in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites and multimedia.

“Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.” 

 

“Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.”

 

 

Helpful Search Commands

"Quotation Marks"
Search for an exact phrase. 
Example: "Great Expectations"

Wild Card*
Search for variations on a word or phrase.
Example: femin* (would give results for "feminine", "feminism", "feminist")

Site:
Search for content on a specific web page or type of web page.
Example: "politics" site:bl.uk
Example: "climate change" site:.org

Thank you!

Many thanks to the librarians at Stuyvesant High School for their help and resources for this page!