Skip to main content

8th Grade History Research Database: Gay Liberation/Rights Movement

Welcome to Amber's History class!

Suggested Databases

You can access these databases by clicking the icons below or through the NYPL homepage, and following the directions in the lefthand column.

Be sure to keep your library card handy; you'll need to use the number under the barcode to access the databases.

In Gale Virtual Reference Library, look for:

  -The Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bixsexual and Transgendered History in America

  -The American Social Reform Movements Reference Library

  -The Sixties in America Reference Library

  -Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources

 

The Gale U.S. History in Context is harder to read--you should start with the Gale Virtual Reference Library. But if you want to look for something specific, this could help.  It has newspaper articles as well, but most of them are current, so you won't have as much luck if you're looking for something from earlier than 2000. 

U.S. History in Context

The Gale Biography in Context source is very helpful if you have specific things you'd like to know about a particular person in history. 

Biographies in Context

Encyclopedia Americana

Periodical Databases/Archives

Academic Search Premier (Click on the image above) is a periodical (newspaper, magazine & journal) database.  You cannot access it from school, but you can access it from home or from the public library.

Make sure to sort your responses by date, or date range.  Some publications you may wish to search are:

Time Magazine (available from 1923-present)

New York Times (available from 1980-present)

Other Web Links

Books available from East Side library

Key Search Terms

  • Gay Liberation Movement
  • Gay Liberation Front
  • Harvey Milk
  • Stonewall Riots
  • Homophile Movement
  • Lesbian Feminism