Skip to main content

11th Grade History: The New Deal: Database Research

Suggested Databases

For the purposes of this research paper, we recommend checking out the following NYPL databases for academic articles and primary source material.

 

U.S. History in Context

Oppsing Viewpoints

You can access these databases by clicking the icons below or through the NYPL homepage, and following the directions in the lefthand column.

Be sure to keep your library card handy; you'll need to use the number under the barcode to access the databases.

What is a...

What is a DATABASE?

A database is a collection of authoritative sources (academic journals, articles, newspapers, etc.) on a specific subject. Searching within a database ensures that the information you find is high quality. Make sure to choose the appropriate database for the information you need. 


How do I know WHICH DATABASE to use?

For the scope of this research paper, you will find a list of databases we recommend in the far right column. Click on the icons to be linked to the database through the NYPL site. You don't need to be at school or at a library branch in order to use the databases, but you will need to enter the number below the barcode on your student library card in order to gain access.

Accessing articles and databases

The New York Public Library (NYPL) is one of the mightiest research institutions in the country and now that you have a library card, you can start taking advantage of it! Follow the instructions below to begin searching the databases!


STEP ONE:

From the NYPL homepage, select the Resources tab;
From the drop-down menu, select Articles and Databases

Screen Shot of NYPL homepage



STEP TWO:

Before searching for articles, you'll have to decide which database you want to search in (and you will likely have to search more than one); specifying by subject and audience will help narrow down the amount of databases to choose from into a manageable number.

Remember to keep your library card handy; you'll need to use the number to log in to these database itself.

Screen Shot of Articles and Databases Platform